updating Tools

  • Advertisement ( why? )
     

    Brianran, 23rd Mar 2015 11:11 am

    I noticed that on updating the latest version my Internet security gave me 3 options:
    Allow all activity
    Allow activity except possible dangerous areas, chose this option
    Stop access.
    I had not been able to go to forums or updating.
    Had to approach from Internet net direct to reload.
    Problem solved when I allowed all activity.
    This happened on a previous occasion, but did not know why.
    It treats some of the activity s dangerous.
    I am sure others have been effected without realising why.

    • HTML-Kit Support, 23rd Mar 2015 12:13 pm

      On 3/23/2015 11:11 AM, Brianran wrote:

      I noticed that on updating the latest version my Internet security
      gave me 3 options:
      Allow all activity
      Allow activity except possible dangerous areas, chose this option
      Stop access.
      I had not been able to go to forums or updating.
      Had to approach from Internet net direct to reload.
      Problem solved when I allowed all activity.
      This happened on a previous occasion, but did not know why.
      It treats some of the activity s dangerous.
      I am sure others have been effected without realising why.

      Hi Brianran,

      What security software is doing this? Do you know what it means by
      "dangerous?"

      I can't think of anything that's changed in the general release that
      could trigger a warning, except the scanner might be seeing it as "new
      software" and being extra cautious.

      These are the reasons HTML-Kit would connect to the Internet:

      • Previewing a page that load external images, style sheets, etc.

      • Connecting to a FTP server (if you've set one up)

      • Browsing plugins, checking updates, invoking feedback dialog, etc.

      In the case of things like browsing plugins, Tools tells you what it's
      about to do and waits for you to initiate the connection the first time
      you open the window.

      I'll be glad to help with any questions or concerns but there's really
      no way for Internet-related software to completely avoid warnings and
      false positives because security software tend to err on the side of
      caution. If you have any doubts at all though, you could always block
      everything and let it prompt you for each specific connection. You could
      even completely deny Internet access if you're not using things like FTP
      and internal preview.

      Chami

      • bill, 24th Mar 2015 5:26 am

        On 3/23/2015 1:13 PM, HTML-Kit Support wrote:

        On 3/23/2015 11:11 AM, Brianran wrote:

        I noticed that on updating the latest version my Internet security
        gave me 3 options:
        Allow all activity
        Allow activity except possible dangerous areas, chose this option
        Stop access.
        I had not been able to go to forums or updating.
        Had to approach from Internet net direct to reload.
        Problem solved when I allowed all activity.
        This happened on a previous occasion, but did not know why.
        It treats some of the activity s dangerous.
        I am sure others have been effected without realising why.

        Hi Brianran,

        What security software is doing this? Do you know what it means
        by "dangerous?"

        I can't think of anything that's changed in the general release
        that could trigger a warning, except the scanner might be seeing
        it as "new software" and being extra cautious.

        These are the reasons HTML-Kit would connect to the Internet:

        • Previewing a page that load external images, style sheets, etc.

        • Connecting to a FTP server (if you've set one up)

        • Browsing plugins, checking updates, invoking feedback dialog, etc.

        In the case of things like browsing plugins, Tools tells you what
        it's about to do and waits for you to initiate the connection the
        first time you open the window.

        I'll be glad to help with any questions or concerns but there's
        really no way for Internet-related software to completely avoid
        warnings and false positives because security software tend to
        err on the side of caution. If you have any doubts at all though,
        you could always block everything and let it prompt you for each
        specific connection. You could even completely deny Internet
        access if you're not using things like FTP and internal preview.

        Chami

        Norton labels every new release as questionable because at that
        time very few individuals have downloaded it and reported it as
        safe. It is the fate of all programs with limited distribution.
        I just mark it "safe" and go ahead.

        bill