How do I not confirm on a repeat save

  • Advertisement ( why? )
     

    bill, 29th Jun 2014 6:20 am

    My normal procedure is to save files locally.
    I then attach them to a FTP folder by doing an "upload this
    file." I uncheck prompt if file exists on remote folder.

    The session in which I first upload the file I am not prompted
    with "Would you like to upload... to ...

    However when I end that session and start a new session and
    automagically open my previously opened files and then use the
    upload (ctrl-U) icon I AM asked if I really want to upload ... to ...

    Can I set Tools to not nag me about do you want to..?

    currently using: HTML-Kit Tools for Windows 20131106
    Windows 7 Home Premium Edition Version 6.1 (Build 7601: Service
    Pack 1), 64-bit/WOW64
    IE 9.11.9600.17126, COMCTL32 6.16, SHELL32 6.1.7601.35583, 50727
    4,194,304 KB out of 4,194,304 KB of physical memory available.
    .NET Framework 2.0.50727.5477 (r) / v2.0.50727 (clr) / 1.1 SP1,
    2.0 SP2, 3.0 SP2, 3.5 SP1, 4.0 (i)
    3 monitors (-1050, -485, 3200, 1195): (0, 0, 1920, 1080), 32 bpp;
    (-1050, -485, 0, 1195), 32 bpp; (1920, 56, 3200, 1080), 32 bpp

    BTW: the memory cited above is clearly wrong. I have 15 gigs
    available this morning

    bill

    • HTML-Kit Support, 30th Jun 2014 9:06 pm

      Hey Bill,

      On 6/29/2014 6:20 AM, bill wrote:

      My normal procedure is to save files locally.
      I then attach them to a FTP folder by doing an "upload this file." I
      uncheck prompt if file exists on remote folder.

      The session in which I first upload the file I am not prompted with
      "Would you like to upload... to ...

      However when I end that session and start a new session and
      automagically open my previously opened files and then use the upload
      (ctrl-U) icon I AM asked if I really want to upload ... to ...

      Can I set Tools to not nag me about do you want to..?

      So I had to think about this...

      It's showing the Upload Reminder dialog (with "Would you like to upload
      it..." prompt) if:

      1. The file is attached to a FTP folder
      2. "Remind me to upload future modifications" option is checked
      3. File is modified but not uploaded before closing

      When I'm editing local files, I don't always want to upload them. I
      might work on a draft version locally and upload later. Or, I could
      press Ctrl+U to save locally and also upload (which would get rid of the
      reminder when you close the file).

      You also have the "Remind me to upload" option if you don't want to be
      reminded about uploading modified files on close.

      To support these various scenarios, I added a new Ctrl+Shift+U shortcut
      which you can use to quickly upload files attached to FTP folders. The
      difference between this and Ctrl+U is that you'll now be able to skip
      the dialog altogether making it possible to use Ctrl+Shift+U in place of
      Ctrl+S (when you want to save and upload without a prompt).

      Does this help at all?

      This addition is in TreeHouse build 20140603:

      http://www.htmlkit.com/assistant/

      currently using: HTML-Kit Tools for Windows 20131106
      Windows 7 Home Premium Edition Version 6.1 (Build 7601: Service Pack
      1), 64-bit/WOW64
      IE 9.11.9600.17126, COMCTL32 6.16, SHELL32 6.1.7601.35583, 50727
      4,194,304 KB out of 4,194,304 KB of physical memory available.
      .NET Framework 2.0.50727.5477 (r) / v2.0.50727 (clr) / 1.1 SP1, 2.0
      SP2, 3.0 SP2, 3.5 SP1, 4.0 (i)
      3 monitors (-1050, -485, 3200, 1195): (0, 0, 1920, 1080), 32 bpp;
      (-1050, -485, 0, 1195), 32 bpp; (1920, 56, 3200, 1080), 32 bpp

      BTW: the memory cited above is clearly wrong. I have 15 gigs
      available this morning

      bill

      Good catch! Memory reporting on the version dialog is wrong on 64-bit
      systems. It's showing 32-bit 4GB max limit which should be adjusted.

      Chami

      • bill, 3rd Jul 2014 6:49 am

        On 6/30/2014 10:06 PM, HTML-Kit Support wrote:

        Hey Bill,

        On 6/29/2014 6:20 AM, bill wrote:

        My normal procedure is to save files locally.
        I then attach them to a FTP folder by doing an "upload this
        file." I
        uncheck prompt if file exists on remote folder.

        The session in which I first upload the file I am not prompted
        with
        "Would you like to upload... to ...

        However when I end that session and start a new session and
        automagically open my previously opened files and then use the
        upload
        (ctrl-U) icon I AM asked if I really want to upload ... to ...

        Can I set Tools to not nag me about do you want to..?

        So I had to think about this...

        It's showing the Upload Reminder dialog (with "Would you like to
        upload it..." prompt) if:

        1. The file is attached to a FTP folder
        2. "Remind me to upload future modifications" option is checked
        3. File is modified but not uploaded before closing

        When I'm editing local files, I don't always want to upload them.
        I might work on a draft version locally and upload later. Or, I
        could press Ctrl+U to save locally and also upload (which would
        get rid of the reminder when you close the file).

        You also have the "Remind me to upload" option if you don't want
        to be reminded about uploading modified files on close.

        To support these various scenarios, I added a new Ctrl+Shift+U
        shortcut which you can use to quickly upload files attached to
        FTP folders. The difference between this and Ctrl+U is that
        you'll now be able to skip the dialog altogether making it
        possible to use Ctrl+Shift+U in place of Ctrl+S (when you want to
        save and upload without a prompt).

        Does this help at all?

        works just fine. Now I just have to retrain my fingers.
        I note you fixed the tooltip too, good for you. You seldom miss
        the small things.

        --bill

        • HTML-Kit Support, 3rd Jul 2014 11:12 am

          On 7/3/2014 6:49 AM, bill wrote:

          On 6/30/2014 10:06 PM, HTML-Kit Support wrote:

          Hey Bill,

          On 6/29/2014 6:20 AM, bill wrote:

          My normal procedure is to save files locally.
          I then attach them to a FTP folder by doing an "upload this
          file." I
          uncheck prompt if file exists on remote folder.

          The session in which I first upload the file I am not prompted
          with
          "Would you like to upload... to ...

          However when I end that session and start a new session and
          automagically open my previously opened files and then use the
          upload
          (ctrl-U) icon I AM asked if I really want to upload ... to ...

          Can I set Tools to not nag me about do you want to..?

          ...

          To support these various scenarios, I added a new Ctrl+Shift+U
          shortcut which you can use to quickly upload files attached to
          FTP folders. The difference between this and Ctrl+U is that
          you'll now be able to skip the dialog altogether making it
          possible to use Ctrl+Shift+U in place of Ctrl+S (when you want to
          save and upload without a prompt).

          Does this help at all?

          works just fine. Now I just have to retrain my fingers.

          Cool! Glad it works for you. I wondered about assigning the new behavior
          to Ctrl+U so the current could be switched to Ctrl+Shift+U, but that
          might break the workflow others might be used to.

          I note you fixed the tooltip too, good for you. You seldom miss the
          small things.

          --bill

          Ha ha! Thanks :)

          Chami